Wait.. where did you come from?!

“When a tsunami hit the northern coast of Japan last year, the waves ripped four dock floats the size of freight-train boxcars from their pilings in the fishing port of Misawa and turned them over to the whims of wind and currents.

One floated up on a nearby island. Two have never been seen again. And one made an incredible journey across 5,000 miles of ocean that ended this week on an Oregon beach.”

– JAPAN NEWS June 7, 2012

I was watching the evening news when they announced this 70 foot dock had floated onto our Newport Beach. I couldn’t believe it! I knew we were going to see some wash ups due to the terrible tsunami, but I had no idea something as big as this dock could just float over here! 

My husband told me that there’s no way I wasn’t going to take pictures of it lol! So, my parents and brother, Ryan, came with me 🙂 You all haven’t seen pictures of my other younger brother yet, so I’m very excited to be sharing these with you 🙂 This one is fully dedicated to the dock, but my next blog will be the other shots of the coast that I took that day.

I was kind of playing around with the effects with this one, but you can see how much fog we had that day! Not too unusual for the Oregon coast 😉

Image

Image

I’d like you to meet Ryan 🙂

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

There was a metal plaque that you can see they removed so no one would steal it.

“And a metal plaque attached to the dock indicates in Japanese that the dock was intended for use in the port of Misawa, in Aomori Prefecture, a coastal area of Japan hit hard by the March 2011 tsunami. The plaque is dated June 2008.” – THE ASSOCIATED PRESS June 6, 2012

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

12 comments

  1. i remember the blue glass balls that held up japanese fishing nets floated to the oregon coast taking twenty five years or so…. this is amazing

Leave a Reply

