The California Coast – During a Sunset

I love Oregon, it’s green and beautiful… but… I love the California coast at sunset! I’m so glad I got to see it while I was down there. The coasts up here are amazing, but a bit cold for me and usually always foggy. Don’t get me wrong, I’m crazy about the fog, but I do enjoy those Cali sunset πŸ™‚Β 

Ok, before we get to the sunset shots, can anyone tell me what kind of bird this is? He looked like he was caught in the water, because he let us walk right up to him and he didn’t move. We were worried about him, but didn’t know what to do about it. We also weren’t sure what kind of bird he was and I’d like to know any info on him if anyone knows:)

Β 

Image

Β 

Β 

Image

Β 

Β 

Image

Β 

Β 

Image

Β 

Β 

Image

Β 

Β 

Image

20 comments

  1. Hi Amanda. I can see from your photos why the California coast is such a draw for you. I don’t expect to see that coast anytime soon, so my Lake Michigan coast will have to do.

    I think your feathered friend up there is a cormorant, perhaps a not-quite fully grown Brandt’s Cormorant. Cormorant or not, what a great picture!

      1. BTW- I had the chance to attend a small free seminar by Kristian Bogner, Canada’s Photographer of the Year, and I was so inspired that I decided to book a weekend course of his Ultimate Rockstar Photographer session! Sure, I haven’t bought a Nikon D3200, but I’m so inspired to take the first step. Thank you for making that happen but being so wonderful yourself.. πŸ˜€

        Pink.

      2. Awwww what an amazing experience! Geeezz i haven’t even been able to go to any of those lol! I’ll have to see if there is something like that around me soon πŸ˜€ Just you updating me and commenting on my site and being so positive about what I do, that alone keeps me going πŸ™‚ Let’s me know it isn’t a silly dream of mine πŸ™‚ Thank you Pink!

      3. Wowweee! Really! Maybe I can like share some of his tips! Hahaha… It’s this event http://photographicrockstar.com/photographic-rockstar-event/, and hopefully it’s well worth it! He’s really cool though.. he talks about capturing the moment, and how many of his award winning pics were accidental, serendipitous. It’s more than just photography, it’s capturing those moments in life that take our breath away.. Wowee! To be part of your positive cheer, and to know that makes a difference. That’s the real honor.. πŸ˜€ And Kristian does tour around Canada I believe.. not sure if anywhere else? I’ll see if its worth the price πŸ˜€ haha.. funny thing is, I don’t own a SLR camera like the Nikon D3200 but I he mentioned it’s not necessary for the course or to capture those life moments, so I figured just putting more effort into my photography is first.. πŸ˜€

        So keep capturing those moments! πŸ˜€

        Pink.

      4. Thank you for the info! That really helps and just spending time in the comment made my day πŸ™‚ I will definitely look into it! I’m not too far from Canada lol! So we’ll see what happens πŸ™‚ I agree with the accidental shots, those are the best πŸ™‚ Have fun with your new hobby and please make sure to post your favs!

  2. I’ve watched you grow over the past year. You are definitely coming into your own and becoming a strong photographer. I love the shots of the pilings … they appear alive.

    My initial response on the bird is, as Sid said, a cormorant. What do you think: google images cormorant

    Sure is a cute little guy.

    1. Thank you so much Mona πŸ˜€ Thanks to you, and a few others I’ve been following, I’ve learned sooooo much! Much more than I ever could from a book lol! You’ve been so encouraging and I appreciate the patience lol πŸ˜› Yes I looked up cormorant and that’s for sure the same bird, I hope he was ok 😦 But he was really beautiful. Thank you for the feedback πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

