Hearst Castle – Neptune Pool and the Roman Indoor Pool

Designed by architect Julia Morgan, the Neptune Pool with terrace elements was started in 1924. The Neptune Pool was built and rebuilt three times, each version a larger size. After the 1926 and 1934 redesigns and re-buildings, it was finally deemed completed by William Randolph Hearst in 1936. 

The Neptune Pool is 58 feet (18 m) wide except for the 95 feet (29 m) width at the primary axis fountain—alcove section, and the secondary axis pool length is 104 feet (32 m). The depth varies from 3.5 feet (1.1 m) at the west ‘shallow’ end, to 10 feet (3.0 m) at pools’ main drains. 

The fountains and pool are fed by spring water piped from the Santa Lucia Mountains, and the pool alone holds 345,000 gallons of water.

-http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neptune_Pool

 

First off, I hope you all had a great Christmas! Mine was insane! I was all over California seeing friends and family and it all went by way too fast, but it was amazing being able to see everyone during this time of year. 

There are no words to describe these pools, all I’ve come up with is… they are both HUGE! I was amazed with how big and detailed they were. Not too surprised considering everything else about this place is huge and detailed haha! 

The tour guide said that the pool is only used now for the staff and every so often they allow family to come and swim in it as well. I’ve decided I want to work at Hearst Castle hahaha! 

This is my last Hearst Castle post, and I’ll be moving onto some amazing Waterfall shots I took! Super excited about those 😀 I hope you all have a great New Years and I can’t wait to see photos of what those fun days will hold for you 🙂 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

The Roman Pool was really amazing! Like I said, no words lol!

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

8 comments

  1. You sure do get to visit some amazing places Amanda!, I’m jealous 😝
    Here in Great Britain, we get rain, rain, rain, oh, and a lot of rain too.
    Good for you! Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

