“I and my Annabel Lee”

“…But our love it was stronger by far than the love
Of those who were older than we-
Of many far wiser than we-
And neither the angels in heaven above,
Nor the demons down under the sea,
Can ever dissever my soul from the soul
Of the beautiful Annabel Lee…”

-Edgar Allan Poe (Annabel Lee)

While visiting Newport we decided to go take a tour of the Yaquina Head Lighthouse before heading home. We had taken this tour about 3 years earlier, I didn’t have Frank (My Canon) with me yet, so I thought he’d enjoy the trip 🙂 

We got to the parking lot next to the Lighthouse and saw the tide was at it’s highest, we had about an hour to kill before the tour so William and I took a stroll down where the tide pools were suppose to be.

The beach, as you can see in the pictures, are mostly these gorgeous black rocks. The waves hitting and rolling away from the rocks made a loud rolling sound, the water was pushing and dragging the rocks as they clung to the beach. I’ve never heard a sound like it. It was a cloudy morning and the Edgar Allan Poe poem came to my mind.

http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/annabel-lee/

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

Look hard… there’s a small bird diving for fish in there 🙂

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

I have so many pictures of Yaquina Head Lighthouse that I’m having a hard time knowing what to post! The next blog you will see more of it 🙂

Image

20 comments

      1. You might surprise yourself Amanda ~ I started my blog with exactly that plan – mostly was pulling quotes I liked from other people (famous ones) … and then a follower begged me to start writing my own quotes. She was an english/writing professor and just read my narratives… so I tried and look where it went! So if you ever feel brave – -start with the one liners — if you go back to my old stuff you will see how i didn’t write any poetry at all…now monster is created! — fun to use the photos as my ‘muse’ ~ 🙂 These shots were spectacular!

      1. I think it is more likely the creative talent behind the camera! I have an amazing camera but i can’t produce photos like these! Please keep taking photo as i am loving looking through them! 😀

Leave a Reply

