Through Franks Lens

As most of you know, Frank is my Canon camera. William and I took him to our lake, not far from home. We wanted to see what Frank saw when he looked at the stars. The results were incredible. I only wish I could have fixed them better, but to see stars through his lens was something I will be doing a lot more ๐Ÿ™‚

I turned my f-stop down to the lowest number to bring in more light and then I set my camera to the “bulb” setting which allowed me to have it open as long as I wanted. Unfortunately it was a cooooolllld night and I wasn’t willing to stand in the cold air too long. The first three shots the lens was open for 1 minute and 30 seconds. It was a good amount of time before the stars got too blurry and I got some of the light from where towns were and where the sun had set earlier.ย 

ย 

Image

ย 

I wish these first two didn’t have as much grain, but I’m still learning how to clean them up better ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

ย 

This one I messed with a bit, just ended up liking the look of it better. The exposure was also only open for 1 minute and 30 seconds.

Image

ย 

This one is by far my favorite! I left the exposure open for 10 minutes and I was so happy with it ๐Ÿ˜€

ImageI would love to hear your thoughts on these! Also with the grain, if any of you know how to prevent it I’d love to hear what you have to say ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 

23 comments

  1. They are very nice. As for the grains (which don’t affect me here) You can’t prevent them other than use a small ISO, with very high ISo you can easily remove grains in Lightroom..

    1. I ended up youtubing the long exposure part! It’s amazing how much people will help you on there! Just look up your camera type with the word “Long exposure” next to it. You might find something! My camera has a setting on it that just says “B” which means “bulb”. With my remote I was able to set a timer and I’d come back after a few minutes to push the button to stop it. Really easy once you get the hang of it. I think my f-stop was set at like 3.5 and my ISO was set at 100, for less grain. Just play around with it ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d love to see what you come up with! I have so much more to learn! HAHA

  2. I do not know much about photography but these pictures are perfect in my eyes! Brought some kind of peace to me when I look at it. No other editing should be done on it – for me at least ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hahaha There are soooooo much to learn I get overwhelmed. But youtube is my friend and now I just open up my photography books when I forget things, it’s not so bad when you get the hang of it :)I’m so glad I can help people understand it… a little HAHA!

Leave a Reply

