30 Day Challenge – Day 1 “Self Portrait”

“Everything is a self-portrait. A diary. Your whole drug history’s in a strand of your hair. Your fingernails. The forensic details. The lining of your stomach is a document. The calluses on your hand tell all your secrets. Your teeth give you away. Your accent. The wrinkles around your mouth and eyes. Everything you do shows your hand.”

― Chuck Palahniuk, Diary

I have been dreading this post. I don’t like pictures of myself, and I know this one isn’t very good. In fact you will probably all think it’s awful HAHA! I know I don’t really like it, but the reason behind it is, I hide behind my hair. If I’m meeting new people or just nervous, I hide behind my hair and I don’t look people in the eyes. I tell people I have the “ostrich” effect, I think if I don’t look at people they can’t see me haha! It’s silly but while I was wrecking my brain on how I was going to do this, I just thought of something like this, a little more of an art style than portrait. I probably completely failed, and I’m kind of curious as to what you think. Here’s me, hiding behind my hair, because I’m out of my comfort zone.

Image

18 comments

  1. Oh I love this!! It’s mysterious and beautiful too. I think it’s quite natural — did you use a timer or a remote? Don’t be shy with these – they will be big hits – I am sure… Excellent Excellent my friend ~ Much Love xr

    1. Awww thank you so much Robyn 🙂 I’m glad you liked it! I just kind of reached over and took it while on my bed HAHAHA! I got the awesome lighting from my bedroom window though, which I was happy with 🙂 It took me all day of random shots to decide on this one HAHA! Oi, I’m not looking forward to my next self portrait lol

  2. Hey! I missed your first entry on your 30 day challenge! It’s good! It’s mysterious and makes me want to see more. I can only imagine your eyes, which is both disconcerting and fun ‘cos I can let my imagination run wild, I like it Amanda. And you’ve got lovely hair and sensuous lips. Well done for your first self portrait – one more to go!

  3. I actually quite love this, and thought about how talented you are. I hate self-portraits too, I prefer being on the other end of the camera, hahah.. thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

