From Wannabe to…

Update: New Blog Name!

To all my amazing followers, I’ve decided to change my blog name. WannabePhotographer is growing up and learning more each and every day ๐Ÿ™‚ I was having a hard time deciding on using my name or creating a name for a possible photo career in the future! I love when people come up with clever names that represent their style. I wanted something more personal and something that was easy to remember. Some of you probably remember my bedroom window shots inย My Rearย Window. Spending years looking out my window and seeing that broken piece taped a million time because we just haven’t gotten to it, has become a joke in my house. We mention it and laugh knowing probably nothing is going to happen about it for a while. I’ve taken plenty of pictures out those windows and it’s inspired me in so many way on the kind of photographer I wanted to be! William came up with Broken Window Photography, and it just sounded right to me! Something simple and rustic. I have an amazing friend who is a pro at creating logos and I asked him for a watermark. Really love what he came up with! I’m having a hard time knowing how to layer images in Lightroom, does anyone know? I’ve been trying to look stuff up but I’m just lost. For now, I’m just attaching it as a graphic in my watermark setting, but eventually I will be layering it.ย 

I hope you all like it! The blog name will be changed soon to Broken Window Photography, so I hope it doesn’t confuse anyone! I’d love to hear your feedback!

ย 

Image

ย 

39 comments

      1. I absolutely do! ๐Ÿ™‚ i hope you don’t mind, But I’m also going to do an overhaul on my blog name too. Just haven’t thought of a good name yet lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. I recently went through a similar change. I saw a huge jump in traffic and overall it was a great choice, but I learned a few things along the way!

    1. Make sure you change your blog name and URL in all the right places. The first spot to change your URL is https://en.wordpress.com/settings/account/ Secondly, follow the steps in this article to make all of the other necessary changes: http://en.support.wordpress.com/changing-blog-address/

    2. When you change your blog’s name and URL, you are essentially starting a new blog, and therefore your posts won’t show up for awhile.

    3. All of your past posts may show up in your Followers’ readers twice. Once under your old blog, once under your new blog. Not a big deal, but something to be aware of.

    3. Future posts may not show up in your Followers’ reader! When I made the change, my husband complained that none of my posts were showing up for him. Sure enough, none of my “regular” readers seemed to be interacting with any of my posts. We did some testing and the only fix we found was to unfollow and refollow my blog. Over time, I’ve started seeing some of my old regulars come back, but it’s mostly a new crowd.

    Good luck in your new adventure! I hope I haven’t scared you too much, as I said that changing my blog was a really positive experience. Just wanted to give you some things to look out for ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Want to clarify #2, posts under your new blog won’t show up in WordPress READER for a while! Ex: if you tag “photography” it may take a while for those posts to show up.

    2. Wow that’s nuts! Haha! Thank you very much for explaining all that to me, I really didn’t think it was going to be that big of a change. I might rethink changing my URL address and might just change the name. Hmmm. Thank you again!

  2. Amanda, love the new blog name!! Really like how it has a personal connection too.
    So blessed to be on this journey with you as you just go from strength to strength with your amazing photography! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. I really love you new blog design, it makes the images pop! The name is pretty cool and i enjoy the story behind it. You’ve really got something going for you and it is nice to see your confidence showing. Keep it up!

      1. Aww that is so sweet of you! You have a great talent that shouldn’t be wasted and if confidence is all it takes to make that grow, then you can count me in. It would be amazing to see you turn that passion into a job. You know what they say, if you do something you love, you will never work a day in your life. True story!

Leave a Reply

